cool concertina

brian erickson cool concertina

Cool Concertina

COOL CONCERTINA is a compilation of many jazz standards that Brian Erickson and his ensemble recorded in various studios across the United States,Canada and Europe.

Brian Erickson’s creative efforts have completed the unorthodox challenge of playing the concertina in a jazz setting, which, until Brian came along had been unfamiliar to this musical instrument. On certain cuts ( “Air Mail Special” being one of them) Brian overdubs with additional concertina parts in order to demonstrate the possibilities of a concertina “Big Band.”

The fine rhythm section consists of Brian Benson (formerly of Chicago and one of the most sought after bass players in the international jazz scene.) And Dane Richeson (drums) a first class drummer and also percussion instructor/professor at Lawrence University, Appleton, WI, USA.

Brian also features on “Limehouse Blues” and “Sweet Georgia Brown” one of the most revered jazz clarinetists of the Midwest…the incomparable Don Chesebro!

In COOL CONCERTINA Brian Erickson exploits some of the unique tricks and interesting sounds on the concertina (which he created) and proves that the Chemnitzer Concertina can actually swing!!!

Track Listing:
1. Take the A Train
2. Cherokee
3. April in Paris
4. Lover
5. Night and Day
6. Swingin’ Shepard Blues
7. The Song is You
8. Where or When
9. Opus #1
10. Deep Purple
11. That’s A Plenty
12. Misty
13. Caravan
14. Limehouse blues
15. Satin Doll
16. Sweet Georgia Brown
17. Wave
18. Tangerine
19. Pennies From Heaven
20. Honeysuckle Rose
21. Air Mail Special
22. Polka Dots and Moonbeams
23. Woodchopper’s Ball

ISA Productions
PO Box 1142
Wisconsin Rapids WI 54495-1142


powered by Goochs ©2011